Eight Distinct Regional Cuisine

Last Update: 2008-7-20; By christyinguilin

Edition History Edit Introduction:

Table of Contents

Grape fish
View 11 photos, or upload your photo.

There are eight styles of distinct regional cooking  in China. Of them, the most influential and representative ones are the culinary styles of Lu, Chuan, Yue, Min, Su, Zhe, Xiang and Hui.

Each culinary style is inseparable from its long history and influenced by geography, climate, resources, specialties and dining habits of each area. Some descriptions of the eight culinary schools are: the cuisines of Jiangsu and Zhejiang have been compared to delicate beauties of the Yangtze River Delta; those of Shandong and Anhui have been compared to simple but sturdy men of the north; those of Guangdong and Fujian are compared to elegant nobles; those of Sichuan and Hunan are likened to people with substantial and varied accomplishments.

The cooking techniques of each of the Chinese culinary schools are unique and the dishes have their own distinguished characteristics.

TOPSichuan Cuisine/Chuan Cuisine

Among the eight major schools of China's culinary art, Sichuan Cuisine is perhaps the most popular one. It is well-known for its hot and pungent flavoring. Sichuan dishes boat a variety of flavors and different methods of cooking. It can be hot, sweet, sour salty or tongue-numbing. Read More

TOPHunan Cuisine/Xiang Cuisine

Characteristics of Hunan Cuisine are: a great vareity of ingredients, shiny and strong colors, hot and spicy tastes, smoked and pickled flavors.

TOPGuangdong Cuisine/Cantonese Food

 Guangdong dishes are fresh, tender, and lightly seasoned. The raw material for Guangdong cuisine is very rich, which includes snake, cat and pangolin. Read More

TOPShandong Cuisine

Shandong Cuisine includes many famous seafood dishes. The dishes are usually fresh, tasty, but not greasy. Read More

TOPJiangsu Cuisine

Jiangsu Cuisine is popular in the middle and lower reaches of the Yangtze River. It is characteristically sweet. Read More

TOPZhejiang Cuisine

Developed from the local food of the four cities in Zhejiang Province: Hangzhou, Ningbo, Shaoxing and Wenzhou. Zhejiang Cuisine makes crisp, tender, light and fresh dishes. Read More

TOPFujian Cuisine

Fujian Cuisine is developed from the local food of the three cities of Fujian Province: Fuzhou, Quanzhou and Xiamen. This region is very close the sea and sea food making is, of course, the chef's culinary art. They are good at steaming, frying, braising the food, partcularly good at pickling the ingredients before cooking. Read More

TOPAnhui Cuisine

Characteristics of Anhui cuisine are natural ingredients selected; temperature and timing of cooking closely observed; original color and flavor preserved. Deep-frying, roadting, simmering and steaming are the usual cooking techniques applied. Read More


18 people have added this page to their favorites. Click here to add this page to your favorites.

Help us improve our web site by Editing This Article.

Topics about Eight Distinct Regional Cuisine

Topics Topics
Hunan Cuisine(Xiang Cuisine) Sichuan cuisine
Guangdong cuisine(Cantonese Food) Zhejiang cuisine(Zhe Cuisine)
Jiangsu cuisine(Su Cuisine) Fujian Cuisine(Min cuisine)
Shandong Cuisine(Lu cuisine) Anhui Cuisine(Hui Cuisine)
Other Culinary Schools
Contribute a New Article


There are 1 questions about Eight Distinct Regional Cuisine:




Become our volunteers

Adervertising With Us!

|About Us |Site Map |Contact Us |FAQ|Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy |

| Links & Resources | Advertising With Us | China Travel Tools |